Getting it Right (all over again!)

Frozen is really big around our house these days, especially if you’re six. Reluctantly so if you’re eight. Much loved if you’re thirty-something and of the female persuasion. The movie is definitely worth watching, even without little ones in tow. It’s probably my favorite Disney movie of all time, a sentiment apparently agreed by many as the movie has become the top-grossing animated film of all time.

But a gem arrived in our house last week in the form of a birthday gift: the Frozen Soundtrack. After awesome renditions of “Let it go” and other great ballads, the second disk played and I was shocked and elated at the content. They included ten songs that never made it into the movie, and the songwriters’ discussion of them, and how the storyline changed a bit dramatically during the course of the project.

It was completely fascinating to me that the original storyline and first attempt at songs were so different from the final movie. I looked at the amazing finished film and never guessed at the process needed to get there. Writing ten songs to get the one song that people everyone won’t stop singing. Writing thirty storylines to get a nuanced, exciting romp through a Norwegian? land.

It’s a lesson that has been replaying through my mind again and again these past two weeks. Even the best-grossing movie – especially the best-grossing movie – had to go through multiple iterations to get to a final product.

So often I want the results to come quickly in those things I pursue. And yet I know that those most important things often require a bit of a slog to get the true rewards. Hopefully I can find joy in the slog too. Someday I may write a book. And today, I must make time for writing, even when I feel too tired or distracted or both.

Luis Menjivar, one of the more youthful pastors at our church, gave a great sermon last Sunday on “Now, but not Yet”. He gave the example of how he decided to start riding his bike to work, and he knew that joy would come from it, but really it took weeks before it stopped being painful, and started to become a bit more enjoyable.

Here are my calls to myself this week: Make time for process. Remember that nothing worth doing ever happens on the first try. And of course, “Let it Go!”

Leave a Reply

