Words that Stand the Test of Time

In some ways, blog posts are like whispers in the wind. The feelings, real as they are, might pass and move on tomorrow. And yet some truths remain unchanged throughout my moods, and the passing of day to day.

I’m reading this book by a leading contemporary author that had “Meditations” in the title.

Mostly they are letters that are her reactions to contemporary events. Yet by the time this book has been published, those events are now eight years past.

Despite loving this author’s work in general, I’m struggling with this book. I honestly don’t want to hear her musings or letters on political events that happened eight years ago. I can barely focus on critique and commentary of events happening today.

I’ve realized that I’m searching for books that have withstood the test of time for meaning and relevancy.

After putting it aside for many months, I finally picked up my Bible again last week. Written by countless authors, thousands of years ago, over many thousands of years, it is chock full of interesting stories and letters.

I am also looking for other timeless books, both spiritual and otherwise.

Can anyone recommend a book that they’d recommend on parenting, self-reflection, meditation, or faith that they read and again and again over time? Post them in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Words that Stand the Test of Time

  1. I have SO many recommendations, I don’t even know where to start. I know you already read Brene’ Brown, did you read A Million Little Ways by Emily Freeman?, I also recommend Jennie Allen’s Anything or Restless, I’m reading that now. Francis Chan, Crazy Love is timeless, Oh, there are so many. Right now I’m also reading Hands Free Mama by Rachel Macy Stafford which is excellent.

  2. I love this. Both books you’ve recommended (as well as others) – Brene Brown and A Million Little Ways have made by top 10 list. I will compile my own list as well. Keep them coming everyone!

Leave a Reply

